It Happened | Alexis de Tocqueville Annual Lecture - March 5, 2020

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 15:07


Banner tocqueville

The Alexis de Tocqueville Annual Lecture 2020 took place on March 5. Dr. Christopher Walker gave us the privilege of delivering the lecture on "Defending Democracy in an Era of Digital Disruption". This ceremony includes the Institute's Diploma Delivery Session and represents the most solemn moment of the academic year at the IEP.

The Lecture was followed by the Diploma Delivery – 23 MA graduates and 53 BA graduates. The following prizes were also delivered: Alexis de Tocqueville Prize, Lord Acton Prize, Fundação Engenheiro António de Almeida Grant, Fundação Amélia de Mello Grant, ASBAL Grant, Advanced Programme in Diplomacy Prize, IDL-Instituto Adelino Amaro da Costa Prize, and Henry, The Navigator Prize.

The ceremony ended with Dinner at the Marriott Hotel.

The Alexis de Tocqueville Annual Lecture speakers have included such renowned figures as Alfred Stepan, (Sir) Anthony Kenny, Christopher DeMuth, George Weigel, (Lord Dacre) Hugh Trevor-Roper, James Q. Wilson, José Manuel Durão Barroso,  (Sir) Martin Gilbert, Michael Novak, (Lord) Raymond Plant, Robert P. George, Timothy Garton Ash, Marc F. Plattner, Manuel Braga da Cruz, Margaret McMillan, (Sir) Noel Malcolm, Anthony O'Hear, Aníbal Cavaco Silva and Charles Powell.

Please click here to read Dr. Christopher Walker Presentation by Professor João Carlos Espada

Please click here to read Professor João Carlos Espada's Openning Adress

Foto 2 Tocqueville 2020
Foto 6 Tocqueville 2020
Foto 5 Tocqueville 2020
Foto 7 Tocqueville 2020
Foto 8 Tocqueville 2020
Foto 9 Tocqueville